google party game

Here’s something to wow and amaze your friends. And, I apologize in
advance if you’ve already seen this demonstrated in a library
instruction class that I’ve taught, but it’s just so dang interesting!

Go to Google, and type in a search, any search. I used mexican free-tailed bats.
Look at the number of results – this search gives me about 55,500. So,
I want to see all the results . . . yes, every last one of them, but
going through them 10 at a time, well, that would take a very long
time. So, let’s fix that.

Just to the right of the “Search” button is an option called Preferences. Click on it. Scroll down toward the bottom of the page and change number of results displayed from the default of 10 to 100. Then, click on Save Preferences and let the fun begin!

Now, do the same search you did before and try to view all of the
results. What happens? Well, I’ll let you find out for yourself.

Comments Off on google party game

Filed under google, information literacy, on the web

Comments are closed.